With boating season approaching, the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission reminds boaters about the boater education card requirement.
Washington boaters are required by a law passed in 2005 to take and pass a boater education course and have their education card with them when operating a vessel of 15 horsepower or more in Washington waterways. Boaters ages 12 to 20 years are now required to carry the card when operating a boat. The card requirement for other age groups will be phased in through 2014. Boaters born before Jan. 1, 1955, are exempt from this law.
To meet the new education requirements, boaters can take approved courses in a classroom, online or at home. Boaters pay $10 for the lifetime card. nformation is available online at http://www.parks.wa.gov/boating or call 360-586-6590.