Lindbergh, Renton athletes named to SPSL all-league teams

Both schools had standouts in their first year in a new league

The South Puget Sound League’s All-League awards for the fall sports season have been announced and athletes from Lindbergh and Renton high schools are well represented.

Lindbergh in particular did very well in its first year in the new league, with several Eagles athletes and coaches bringing top awards back to the school.

And in tennis, Renton athletes took the Player of the Year award in both of the league’s divisions as Lindbergh’s Donovan Dang and Renton’s Howard Ho received top in honors in the Mountain and Sound divisions, respectively. In addition, Lindergh’s Kyle Hebbler and Patrick Tiamzon, as well as Renton’s David Hunyh and Philip Nguyen were all named to the all league first team. Renton also received the Sportsmanship Award.

In girls swimming, the unbeaten Eagles were not only league champs, but coach Roger Miron was named Coach of the Year for the SPSL. In addition, junior Avery Knittle and freshmen Lwai Parsin, Rachel Knittle and Djenica Ortiz all recieved all-league first team honors.

Renton sophomore Pai Naima was also named to the first team.

The Eagles boys cross country team also won the SPSL this season. Coach Jeff Rettman was named Boys Coach of the Year and junior Tyler Hughey took home Athlete of the Year honors. Hughey was also named to the all league first team along with teammates Daniel Langer, Colton Komar and Deven Maddy, all seniors.

Renton freshman Mekias Kebede also made the first team.

On the girls side, Lindbergh won their division, but not the league and seniors Feven Fessehatzion and Lauren Wick, as well as freshman Stephanie Martz were all named to the first team.

In girls soccer, Lindbergh sophomore Thao Nguyen received Offensive Player of the Year honors. She was joined on the all-league first team by fellow sophomore midfielder Dana Rin.

In the league’s other division, the Renton Indians received the Sportsmanship award.

In Women’s golf, Renton’s Anglea Jamison and Samantha Mihara, as well as Lindbergh’s Anusha Syed were all named to the first team.

Finally, in football, the Renton Indians’ Royal Dotson-Goode and Mike Richardson each received player of the year honors in the Sound Division. Dotson-Goode was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Richardson was named Offensive Lineman of the Year.

In the Mountain division, Lindbergh’s Johsiah Serquina received first team honors on both sides of the ball, making the first team as a running back and a defensive lineman. In addition, wide receiver Anthony Walker, offensive lineman David Baginsky and linebacker Josh Nute also each were named to the first team.

Reach editor Brian Beckley at 425-336-4959.