Renton schools well represented in All-League selections

Athletes from all three Renton high schools were named to the Seamount All-League teams this past week.

Several coaches were also honored this season.

Boys basketball

Hazen’s Dominic Green was named the Seamount League’s 2014 Boys Basketball Athlete of the Year this past week.

Green, a junior guard, was also named to the All-League first team, along with fellow Highlander Connor O’Hearn and Lindbergh’s Anthony Hill.

The second team was almost entirely Renton-area players with Lindbergh’s Tyrell Shavers, Hazen’s Anthony Phillips and Renton’s Jordan Holland and Shykiel Milord earning honors.

In addition, Lindbergh’s Nate Cunningham and Renton’s Aaron Johnson received honorable mentions.

Girls basketball

Renton standout Taylor Farris and Lindbergh’s Connie Tua were each named to the All-League Girls Basketball first team this past week.

In addition, the Lindbergh Eagles received the Team Sportsmanship award.

Named to the second team were Renton’s Natajia McMillan, Lindbergh’s Christina Wiley and Hazen’s Sarah Sherrod.

Hazen’s Sablena Milinganyo and Anna Dickenson, as well as Renton’s Alisha Stowers received honorable mentions.


After coaching his team to the Seamount League championship this year, Lindbergh swim coach Roger Miron was honored as the Swimming Coach of the Year and his team received the Team Sportsmanship award.

Three Lindbergh and four Hazen swimmers were also named to the All-League first team.

Three-time state champion Andrew Franco-Munoz and fellow members of the state championship 200-yard freestyle relay team A.J. Lim and James Buchanan were all named to the first team.

Lindbergh diver Derek Anderson was also named to the All-League first team for diving.

Hazen’s Malcolm Mitchell, Connor Broughton, Nolan Hoover and Sergio Licea were also named to the All-League first team.

Making the second team were Max Aedo and Zach Anderson of Lindbergh, Renton’s Danny Mar and Turner Englehart from Hazen.


Hazen gymnastics coach Laci Molnar was named Seamount Gymnastics Coach of the Year and her team earned the Team Sportsmanship award this past week on top of winning this year’s league championship.

Hazen’s Karlie Louie and Kirsten Timm were also named to the All-League gymnastics first team, as was Lindbergh’s Holly Szigety.

Making the second team were Autumn Doolitte, Deja Arrington and Lindsey Pfluger, all from Lindbergh, as well as Hazen’s Elaine Nguyen and Kylie Magar.

Renton’s Kimmy Hoang, Lindbergh’s Maricela Tamayo and Sunny Schneider and Hazen’s Kristina Holm all received honorable mentions.

All-league selections for wrestling were not available.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates