Renton High takes Seamount League wrestling title

The Renton High School wrestling team has won the Seamount League title with a 38-28 win over Hazen Thursday night.

Renton last won the league title in 1991.

Coach Keith Eager, a graduate of Renton High School where he wrestled, has been with the program since 1989 and the head coach since 1992.

Next up for both schools are district tournaments and then the Mat Classic in Tacoma in mid-February.

Renton 38, Hazen 28

106 — Tony Pham, Renton, won by forfeit.

113 — John Estonillo, Renton, pinned Abdu Muhammed, 0:42.

120 — Zach Moore, Hazen, pinned Jahcorey Briscoe, 1:01.

126 — Derek Nichols, Hazen, pinned Tony Vo, 1:04.

132 — Anthony Hunter, Renton, technical fall Colin Kearney, 16-0.

138 — Abraham Cuevas, Renton, major decision over Cameron Felt, 5-3.

145 — Malik Haythorne, Hazen, major decision over Manuel Martinez, 15-7.

152 — Kahali Crowl, Renton, pinned Josh Kluth, 1:40.

160 — Samuel Nicholas, Renton, major decision over Jeremy Hazlett, 4-3.

170 — Abel Rodriguez, Renton, major decision over Jimmy Huynh, 15-2.

182 — Alex Kalinin, Renton, pinned Erik Johannsen, 5:30.

195 — Jairo Barahona, Hazen, pinned Taison Guy, 5:01.

220 — Paul Charbonneau, Hazen, decision over Wilson Sy, 3-2.

285 — Cole Thatcher, Hazen, decision over Brent Ballesteros, 4-0.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates