If you love thrillers, you’ll want to dive into ‘Desolation Mountain’

The dream is one you’ll never forget.

It’s dark, and scary, and it wakes you with pounding heart and dry mouth, a scream on your lips as your eyes slam open. It makes you afraid to go back to sleep. Like most dreams, it doesn’t make any sense. And, as in the new thriller “ Desolation Mountain” by William Kent Krueger, it keeps coming back.

That’s how it happened with Stephen O’Connor.

The dream came to him, sometimes many times in a week: a boy who was him-not-him shot an eagle from the sky before seeing something so malevolent, so terrifying, that it woke Stephen violently. It was a vision, he was certain but even his mide, Henry Meloux, couldn’t help him sort it out.

Cork O’Connor knew that this vision was bothering his son. Stephen just wasn’t himself, but he was a man now. Stephen would ask for help when he needed it — so, for now, Cork turned his attention to other matters.

A large corporation was trying to gain the rights to minerals and ores beneath “the rez,” and Tamarack County was split between the Ojibwe Indians who wanted the land left untouched, and local men who wanted better jobs. Tensions were high and Minnesota Senator Olivia McCarthy was on her way to speak to the people of Tamarack County about the issue and to gain some insight.

But it never happened. Senator McCarthy’s plane went down in the pines near Desolation Mountain. There were no survivors.

But nothing about this crash made any sense. Some claimed that there was no “black box,” but Cork knew better. Then people in the community started to disappear, pet dogs were found shot, a woman was killed, and roads were blocked off by officials who didn’t act very official. And when a face from Cork O’Connor’s past showed up in Tamarack County , Stephen O’Connor’s vision-dream intensified…

Used to be that Cork O’Connor novels leaned more toward the mystery side of the genre. There was a crime, and it was solved before you shut the book’s covers.

Not anymore.

“Desolation Mountain” is edgier than the other in this series. It’s dirtier, a little more current, and author William Kent Krueger delves much deeper into Native American spirituality than he ever has. Mixed with something that resembles today’s political atmosphere, that may seem odd but it works. It feels more like a thriller than an old-school mystery.

For fans of the series as it’s become, that’s welcome news. So is the presence of many of O’Conner’s family and friends, as well as an old friend-foe who reappears with a full case of intrigue to run the story. Also, one more thing: this book will make you scream at the end, but not for the reasons you think.

If you’re not a fan (yet), you’ll be fine starting here but be warned that “Desolation Mountain” will have you skittering for the rest of the series. Especially if you’re a reader who loves thrillers, this one is a dream.

More in Life

The Rainer Room on the 19th floor of Hotel Interurban features more artists and gaming companies.
RenCon explores new territory, holds third convention in Tukwila

A hometown event boldly went where it had never gone before this… Continue reading

GiveSmart for Hurricane Florence victims: Your guide to helping wisely

The following from the office of Washington’s Secretary of State: The 2018… Continue reading

Washington State Patrol focuses on distracted driving this weekend.

The following release from Washington State Patrol: Washington State Patrol (WSP) troopers… Continue reading

Zambuko Marimba Ensemble.
Photo gallery: Multicultural Festival’s Saturday events

The event brought in diverse vendors, performers and attendees on it’s third year.

Illustrations by Rob McClurkan
Dr. Universe tells us why cats like lasers

Ask Dr. Universe is a science-education column from Washington State University.

Logo from smilemobilewa.org
SmileMobile will provide free dental care at Seattle Center

Arcora Foundation, partners and volunteers expect to help more than 4,000 people

Some days, it’s good to feel needed

Some days, you just need a hug. Other days, you only want… Continue reading

Photo by Haley Ausbun
Photos: kids C.A.S.T. for fish

On a crisp cloudy morning, Saturday, Sept. 8, about 40 kids with… Continue reading

Cooler weather means it’s time to dig into new projects

The crisp days of September-October: best time to build a new deck, add a patio or create new beds.

Most Read